Uplifting Scents

Credit: Bikesandwich@Flickr – Sniff the flower

I’ve always had a keen sense of smell (though nowhere near the abilities of bomb squad dogs!) and it’s interesting how scents behave almost like a meta tag on life’s events, milestones, places, people, experiences or memories.

For instance, the scent of Elizabeth Arden’s Green Tea perfume reminds me of my days in Junior College – not only was it the most affordable fragrance in the duty-free section of the airport then, it was also a light and refreshing scent which I happily and frequently spritzed on throughout the day… and it wasn’t too overpowering either.

The year I turned 17 was when my fascination with scents began – at one point, I was actively wearing over 10 perfumes in the course of a week (not at the same time, of course! :p)!

Looking back, I’ve realised that my preference of notes has evolved with age – when I was younger, I was all for the fruity florals ala Escada Sexy Graffiti and the likes. These days, it’s more of the musky woods and feminine florals and clean scents – signs of aging, I reckon!

If I could bottle up any scent in the world, it would be the smell of coffee and freshly baked bread – the former I came across in a market stall in Bangkok, which I had to quickly walk away from, or I would literally have bought them by the dozens!

These days,  I have a few choice scents which I turn to, depending on the antecedent mood or occasion.

Credit: Bvlgari

Bvlgari Rose Essentielle Eau de Parfum – My signature scent since 2010 – it’s a versatile scent which takes me from day to night; it’s feminine, floral and not too fruity which might make it a tad too casual. The Eau de Parfum is also preferred as it lasts much longer than an Eau de Toilette.

Review from Fragrantica:

This Bvlgari’s fragrance is a beautiful bouquet of various sorts of rose.

Two kinds of roses – opulent and deep Turkish rose and rose Prelude with pure, greenish aroma – open the composition. In the heart, the fruity notes of blackberry are softened with delicate violet and jasmine trace. Sandalwood and patchouli make a lingering and sensual drydown. The fragrance was created by Beatrice Piquet in 2006. The bottle in light pink color repeats the shape of classical Bvlgari Pour Femme.

Credit: Lanvin

Lanvin Eclat d’Arpege Eau de Toilette – My go-to scent for a casual, fun day out! I trialed this with a sample vial I got with a magazine purchase during its Singapore launch in 2006 while I was in Junior College and was amazed at how it was a mood-lifting pick-me-up! The perfume has since been relaunched in a variety of limited edition packaging and enhanced seasonal editions.

Notes off Fragrantica:

Top notes are green lilac and petit grain; middle notes are peach blossom, wisteria, red peony, green tea and Chinese osmanthus; base notes are amber, musk and cedar.

Credit: Lancome

Lancôme Miracle Eau de Toilette – I was gifted a bottle of this in 2006, and this was highly recommended by 2 cousins who were wearing this scent, and it was the most expensive bottle of perfume I’d owned during my initial phase of fragrance exploration!

I’m pretty pleased with the light, fun and fruity yet womanly scent of Miracle – it’s a good choice for a date night as it isn’t too strong and most noses will take to it quite well.

Notes from Fragrantica:

Miracle is modern, oriental fragrance with fruity opening (litchi); slightly spiced flowery heart (magnolia, jasmine, ginger and pepper); and powdery base of musk and amber. Launched in 2000.

What are some of your favourite scents?

2 thoughts on “Uplifting Scents

  1. Thank you for the like on my About the Wayfarer (40 and Moses) and for the follow.

    Well written:

    If I could bottle up any scent in the world, it would be the smell of coffee and freshly baked bread

    You have a lovely voice and sound like you’re enjoying life.

    Like

Share your thoughts

